Welcome to the Smith-Appleby House Museum
The Smith-Appleby House Museum began as a one-room stone-ender with a loft above. It was built (circa 1696) by Elisha Smith, the grandson of John Smith “The Miller,” a member of Roger Williams’ original party of six men who left the Massachusetts Bay Colony to settle in Providence. The size of the house was doubled (circa 1730) when a two-room addition was brought to the site and attached to the original house. Other additions and modifications were made over the years to accommodate the family. The last addition was made (circa 1813), when a new modern kitchen with beehive oven was added, bringing the house to its present twelve rooms with varied designs and original stencils.
The forty acres of land granted to John Smith by Roger Williams increased to over 700 acres during Elisha’s lifetime. It has since dwindled to the present seven acres. Over the years, the House’s farmlands, woodlands and orchards have been the site of a grist mill, a saw mill and a blacksmith shop. This delicately restored and furnished farm house features beautiful cabinet work and an intriguing antique collection. A unique feature is the smoke room on the second floor — serviced by the huge fireplace in the keeping room. The House is on the National Register of Historic Places. The history of the House and Property has been chronicled by historian Jim Ignasher.
Visit us! The Smith-Appleby House Museum is open for tours during scheduled events, or tours may be arranged (for individuals or groups) upon request.
The Smith-Appleby House Museum is owned by, and is the headquarters of, the Historical Society of Smithfield, a registered 501(c)(3) tax-exempt non-profit organization.